Union Bay Falls Back

My neighbour asked when was the first day of Fall, I explained “It may still be hot outside, but the first day of fall is upon us. Autumn begins in the Northern Hemisphere on Monday, Sept. 23. That’s the day of the Autumnal Equinox, one of two days when the sun is located just above the Earth’s equator and day and night are roughly equal.

Further; In 2019, the equinox occurs at the same moment worldwide; your clock time depends on your time zone (3:50 a.m. EDT, 2:50 a.m. CDT, 1:50 a.m. MDT and 12:50 a.m. PDT).

After the autumnal equinox, the sun is rising later, and nightfall comes sooner. This ends with the December solstice, when days start to grow longer and nights shorter.

Note that fall foliage isn’t due to current weather conditions. This is a common misconception. Leaves change color because of the amount of daylight and photosynthesis.

Fall also brings some wonderful holidays, including Halloween and Thanksgiving, which carry us through the season until temperatures begin to drop, nights begin to get longer, and all the woodland critters start storing up for the long haul of winter

And don’t forget about the end of Daylight Saving Time, when we “fall” back, setting our clocks back one hour and regaining an hour of precious sleep!

Remember Clocks FALL Back;

Nov 3, 2019 – Daylight Saving Time Ends

When local daylight time is about to reach
Sunday, November 3, 2019, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 3, 2019, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead. Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour earlier on Nov 3, 2019 than the day before. There will be more light in the morning

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.